at this time observing EDT – eastern Daylight Time. At this time has same time zone balance out as EDT (UTC -4) however different time region name.

You are watching: What does e.t. stand for

The term east Time (ET) is often used to represent the neighborhood time in areas observing either eastern Daylight Time (EDT) or Eastern typical Time (EST).

In various other words, in places observing Daylight conserving Time (DST) during part of the year, east Time is not static however switches in between EDT and also EST.

Eastern Time UTC Offset

See Time region Map

What Is eastern Time?

east Time (ET) is the easternmost time region in the united States and also the second easternmost in Canada.

Almost half the the populace in the USA live in the ET time zone. That spans from north Canada and also all the means south to Panama near the Equator.

In phibìc America, east Time shares a border through Atlantic Time (AT) in the east and also with central Time (CT) in the west.

What go ET Time zone Mean?

Unlike various other time region denominations, which have actually a resolved time, east Time describes a geographical area where the time changes twice yearly as Daylight saving Time (DST) begins and ends. Eastern conventional Time is UTC-5, while east Daylight Time is UTC-4.

Most north American time zones likewise have share terms, consisting of Pacific Time (PT), mountain Time (MT), main Time (CT), and also Atlantic Time (AT).

See more: Distance From Albuquerque To Salt Lake City, Road Trip From Salt Lake City To Albuquerque

Converting eastern Time to other US Time Zones

Time ar Converter: UTC come ET

Where and also when is eastern Time observed?

North America

U.S. Claims using EST in the winter and also EDT in the summer Connecticut Delaware ar of Columbia Florida - Southern/Eastern components Show

except Bay, Calhoun, Escambia, Holmes, Jackson, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton and Washington counties and also norther Gulf ar - look at in CST/CDT

Georgia Indiana - all except for this north-western counties near Chicago (Lake, Porter, La Porte, Newton, Jasper, Starke) and these south-western counties in Indiana close to Evansville Show

Gibson, Posey, Vanderburgh, Warrick, Perry

Kentucky - eastern components Show

counties that Anderson, Bath, Bell, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Bullitt, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Casey, Clark, Clay, Elliott, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Greenup, Hancock, Hansock, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Henry, Jackson, Jefferson, Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knott, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Marion, Martin, Mason, McCreary, Meade, Menifee, Mercer, Montgomery, Morgan, Nelson, Nicholas, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Robertson, Rockcastle, Rowan, Scott, Shelby, Spencer, Taylor, Trimble, Washington, Wayne, Whitley, Wolfe, Woodford

Maine Maryland Massachusetts Michigan - most other than these west counties Show

Dickinson, Gogebic, Iron, and Menominee - which are on CST/CDT

new Hampshire new Jersey brand-new York phibìc Carolina Ohio Pennsylvania Rhode Island south Carolina Tennessee - eastern counties Show

Anderson, Blount, Bradley, Campbell, Carter, Claiborne, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Hamilton, Hancock, Hawkins, Jefferson, Johnson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Polk, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sevier, Sullivan, Unicoi, Union, and also Washington

vermouth Virginia West Virginia Canadian provinces/territories using EST in the winter and also EDT in the summer Nunavut - many of it Show

except Kugluktuk, Cambridge only - CST/CDT and Southampton Island (Coral Harbor) EST every year

Ontario - most parts east of 90 West and two neighborhoods west the 90 West Show

Shebandowan, Upsala

Quebec - many of the Show

except eastern of 63 West, Blanc Sablon which observe AST every year

EST all year round

Some locations, such together the ones listed below don"t switch and are in EST all year long.

North America

Canadian provinces/territories making use of EST all yearNunavut - Southampton Island only (Coral Harbour) Mexican states using EST all yearQuintana Roo