Written through Katey Davidson, MScFN, RD, CPT top top November 1, 2019 — median reviewed through Adda Bjarnadottir, MS, RDN (Ice)

Wiggly and also jiggly, jello is a well-known jelly-like dessert that’s appreciated worldwide.

You are watching: Is sugar free jello pudding gluten free

It’s frequently served for dessert in schools and hospitals, however many people also eat it together a short calorie treat.

That said, if friend or who you know has actually trouble digesting gluten, you might wonder whether jello is compatible through a gluten-free diet.

This short article tells you whether jello is gluten-free and provides a gluten-free jello recipe you have the right to make in ~ home.


*
Share top top Pinterest
While plenty of companies to produce jello, the surname “Jell-O” is a registered trademark that Kraft foods items Group, Inc. And includes jello, pudding, and other dessert products. The ax “jello” refers to the gelatin-based dessert.

You deserve to purchase premade jello in individual cups or prepare it yourself utilizing a packaged powder. Regardless, the ingredient are frequently the same.

Jello’s key ingredient is gelatin, which is obtained from a protein called collagen and found in the skin, joints, ligaments, and bones the animals. Usually, gelatin comes from pigs or cows, making it unsuitable for those who avoid pork-based commodities (1).

Other ingredients include sugar, fabricated colors and flavors, and adipic and also fumaric acid, which aid improve the taste, texture, and quality that the product.

While no one of these ingredients save on computer gluten, plenty of companies protect against certifying their jello products as gluten-free, as it’s often developed in a factory that may contain gluten-containing assets or traces the gluten (2).

Therefore, while the ingredient in jello room gluten-free, it’s hardly ever made in a gluten-free facility.

summary

Jello deserve to be purchased premade or in powdered form. While these commodities are naturally gluten-free, they’re usually made in framework that may contain gluten-containing products. Therefore, most jello products are not labeled gluten-free.


To ensure the your jello is gluten-free, be sure to look because that a gluten-free insurance claim on the package. If you cannot find one, you may risk spend trace amounts of gluten.

The best method to ensure your jello is gluten-free is to do it yourself. Doing so is easy and also involves very couple of ingredients.

To make gluten-free jello, you need:

2 tablespoons (30 ml) that gluten-free gelatin1–2 cup (250–500 ml) that 100% fruit juice or fruit purée1 cup (250 ml) that water

Start by adding 1/2 cup (125 ml) that fruit juice to a saucepan and also warming the over short heat. Then add 2 tablespoons (30 ml) that gelatin and stir well. Once it’s completely dissolved, remove it from warm and enable it to sit because that 2 minutes.

Add the continuing to be juice and water come the mixture and also stir well. If you want to do it sweeter, progressively add small amounts of street or a gluten-free sweetener till you have reached your desired sweetness.

Finally, add the mixture come a bowl or mold. Covering it with a lid or plastic wrap and place it in the refrigerator because that at the very least 3–4 hours.

See more: What Does Tsuki Mean In English ? What Does Tsuki Ryu Mean In English

summary

Making jello at residence ensures the it’s gluten-free. Be sure to use ingredients that space labeled gluten-free.